Find Laws Find Lawyers Free Legal Forms USA State Laws
Home » Find Laws » Cars Laws » Maine Permit Practice Test

Maine Permit Practice Test

Maine Permit Practice Test

You will take the permit practice test for Maine at any of the locations of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. There are two practice permit tests for Maine and the first one, the road sign test, will consist of 10 questions. The second test will measure knowledge of traffic laws, regulations and safe driving practices. You must score 8 out of 10 or 80% on both in order to pass the written testing phase. This testing is done in conjunction with the vision test. Passing both will be necessary to obtain a learner’s permit.

The fee to obtain a Maine instruction permit is $10 and the applicant will need to complete and be certified by a driver’s education program. Once the instruction permit has been acquired, an individual may drive with a licensed 20 year old in the passenger seat that has had a license for two consecutive years. The instruction permit will be valid for 18 months.

The State of Maine Motorist Handbook and Study Guide will be your resource for studying and passing the practice permit test in Maine. This is available under the publications tab of the Department of Secretary of State for Maine. Accepted forms of identification when applying for an instruction permit are also listed. Topics covered in the guide will include motor vehicle ownership, safe driving and operation of a motor vehicle and information on driver fatigue and the effect of alcohol on a driver.

permit practice test Maine/practice permit test Maine

NEXT: Maryland Permit Practice Test

Related Articles

Link To This Page


Find an ME Lawyer
Guide to Finding a Lawyer